First Half 2012 Review

Every second quarter of the year, there is this question in This Journal Will Actually Change Someone’s Life!!! (my choice of planner) which I always try to answer seriously — “Are you having a ‘mid-year crisis’ or are things still going well for you?” Last year, I found it challenging to answer this, half-probably because I found almost-zero action the entire 2011. It was during the latter half of the previous year that I discovered that I am simply on a very long Lenten season.

I used to do some yearly reviews, then some quarterly reviews. For 2012, I am going to do it by half. I can see two phases of my life during this second year of the second decade of the third millennium. Two transition states (using the language of chemistry) for me to take place at exactly during where the first half of the year meets the second.

January

January this leap year began on a Sunday, which aside from signalling that 2012 will have many Friday the thirteenths, also means that classes resume from Christmas break extra early. At the graduate level, it’s not really an issue, especially if you’re a doctorand cramming to get your dissertation defended before marching rites. I was cramming two gradschool applications during this month too — I seemed to know no other word in the English dictionary aside from “busy.” I grew worried everyday, thinking my chances would be low. Thankfully, my course allowed me to explore vacation spots around the country with the “for academic purposes” excuse. During the last year of January, I went to Talim Bay in Batangas for Aquatic Ecology class. Sea urchins look fascinating from a diver’s perspective. And yes, the seeds of Enhalus acoroides are so delectable.

February

Academic requirements continued to pile up but nonetheless, February was still a win month for me. I got the best Valentine’s Day ever this year. Not anything cheesy, but let’s just say I became one step closer towards the realization of my dreams. At first I had my doubts but then again I took the leap. And the dive was awesome. I now look forward to opening this new chapter of my adult life.

March

More summer trips for March as this time my Masters classes took me to Iloilo and Guimaras. Good food, good view, good company. I was not really able to travel the whole 2011 seeing as how determined I was then to ensure that 2012 will be my year. Imagine my joy when finally my two bare feet felt the salty waters of the ocean again. Imagine my joy looking at the vastness of the plains, the setting of the tropical sun behind blue seas, the smiling faces of fellow scientist-friends. The last weeks of March proved to be academically demanding though, but with the right mix of people, it was actually a fun ride. Too bad that the said month actually marked my final minutes inside the classrooms of UP Diliman, as during mid-March, I said “yes” to my new love interest already. Those rude awakenings though will always have a special place in my heart.

April

April also began on a Sunday, and not just any Sunday, it’s Palm Sunday! By God’s glory and wonder, I started the Holy Week and the month literally on top of the world — at Mt. Pulag. At six degrees Centigrade, my body slowly learned to adapt to what will soon be an actually comfortable temperature. Good friends and good drinks. It felt like I’ve figuratively conquered the world! The start of the second quarter of the year also commenced the processing of documents I need by August. I’m actually still processing them, they seem not to end! Oh well. Down Mt. Pulag, I had my high school barkada join me during those laughing moments, now that all of us are about to enter our own quarter-life crises.

May

No trips for May, but I got a very important sticker which green-lights my life journey this August. Praise God. The countdown to the last 100 day officially began with the said good news. On other aspects, I attended another science conference, after being dormant for 14 months. I bade a temporary farewell to full-time employment as well, to give my body and soul some well-deserved break. May was just about bonding with my Masters batchmates and touching lives of two of my college kids. I did not say au revoir to part-time employment after all, right?

June

Finally, complete time for myself, family and friends. Time to go home and smell the flowers. I missed my bed in Bulacan so I made love to it during mid-June. But for every “welcome back,” there is always a “so long.” I officially said good bye to Katipunan (and La Vista) during the first week. It has been my home-away-from-home for the past seven years. Free as a bird, I went Northward to re-explore La Union and Benguet with my nephew. Good times. However, as much as I missed my bed in Bulacan, my bed in Cebu sent me a text message, saying she’s very jealous. I did not hesitate at all and flew fast to her embrace. The process made me able to meet up with my paternal relatives whom I’ve last seen last 2010. (And some of them I last saw way back when I was a toddler.)

I remember something on TV saying that this Year of the Dragon won’t be the year for us dragons. Well guess what, I don’t believe in zodiacs, astrology, and all those whatevers. I am the architect of my own future. I am thrilled for what the latter half of the year has for me. At the same time, I am scared but equipped with my dreams and desires, I am ready.

Leave a Reply

