Five Authentic Pinoy Foods I Simply Can’t Resist [Eating]

After a solid month, I’m finally back home at Malolos City and this can only mean one thing — REAL FOOD AT LAST. Life for us totally independent adults living in rental houses can be rough to the point that we resort to canned goods and fast-food meals in times of financial crises. This long weekend (at least for us Quezon City work force) was thus a perfect opportunity for me to go back home. And my mom did not disappoint, a feast was served in our dining table for my solo late lunch earlier. Praise God.

With that in mind, I’m making here a top five list of my most favorite Filipino foods. I am limiting them to only five as not to make this blog entry long and boring. I am limiting the selection to Philippine cuisine to be more specific and uhm, nationalistic? Hahaha.

5. Giniling guisado

Or ground beef (pork would also do) with bell peppers. I grew up with an ultra-fast metabolism so this was the food mom cooked for me a lot during my childhood days, in the hopes that I gain weight. The idea behind this is that just a few servings is actually a heavy meal already for a “normal” person.  At dahil hindi ako nabubusog sa akala ko ay kaunti lang, ayun napaparami ang kain. I actually can eat two platefuls of giniling guisado and still feel hungry. And yes, I still won’t gain weight. Mom would sometimes wrap it in an omelette-fashion. I prefer this as well as adding lots of bell pepper, to heighten up the spice factor. I looooove spicy foods. (Yaya is a Bicolana so there.)

4. Chicken sinampalukan

If you are one of my friends, you already know that I actually don’t eat vegetables as I reason out, hello hindi ako kabayo! hahaha. Kidding. Well, but if you are one of my CLOSEST friends, you already know that I am actually attempting to start eating vegetables, in the hopes to extend my life. (You see, I am a chemist by profession. Go figure.) Green leafy vegetables which used to taste freaky to me now actually have a delectable touch with them (I can’t believe I’m saying this haha), so yeah I’ve been practicing munching on them. (Thank you to my Gatmaitan clan family members at La Vista for helping me!) Now, chicken sinampalukan has been my first attempt. It started during my freshman year at high school, when I first thought to start eating veggies already. Okay, fine well sampaloc may strictly not be veggies, but at least they’re green and leafy, right? Haha. As for sinampalukang manok, the more sour, the better for me. Duh.

3. Pork adobo

Yes, you saw that right, not CPA (chicken-pork adobo) but just pork adobo. Well I dunno, it’s just a me thing. Anyway, please adobo is authentic Pinoy. What the hell with those other versions! The ones which are sweet, the ones which lack vinegar, etc. Adobo can’t be adobo without vinegar for me. Its soy sauce must also maintain that saltiness every true Filipinos love. Anyway, who doesn’t love adobo? Ipa-firing squad na ‘yan!

2. Pork binagoongan

THANKS MOM FOR THIS WONDERFUL DINNER! Again, if you are a close friend you know that I eat only a few seafood. But if you are one of my closest friends, you’ll also know that I’ve been attempting to expand my seafood vocabulary lately. One of the unhealthy options yeah (hello, shrimp paste = kidney suffering in pain) but oh, just deal with it. Again, the spicier the better. The more “orangey” the better too. Now, I really don’t like those which still show bagoong in their “purple color.” Shows substandard cooking, yuck.

1. EXTRA SPICY PORK SISIG

The ultimate nirvana of my stomach — anywhere with good sisig. Make it pork and super spicy please. Now, there are actually two types of pork sisig as I’ve heard — northern or southern. Correct me if I’m wrong — I believe the southern sisig is the one which is crunchier while the northern counterpart is a little creamier (quote-unquote). Anyway, I don’t really fancy eating liver, so for sisig I prefer those with smaller chunks of liver just for the extra spice (up to the nano-scale, if possible haha). I’ve eaten lots of sisig with LARGE UNGODLY chunks of liver and oh dear Lord, please forgive their respective cooks for they do not know what they are doing. (One of this at Ateneo actually. :() As for me, both northern and southern sisig are good. Heck, sisig is good, period. Some people say that there’s a limit to sisig eating per year, but urgh I don’t buy that. Live life and live happy, moral lesson from our sisig friends. 🙂

So there, you are what you eat right? I may actually have a pretty unhealthy choice of food but oh well. I’d rather live a short life eating the food I like rather than spend a long cruel life forcing my stomach to devour on things I don’t really like. For us Filipinos, eating is something sacred so I’ll say munching on something you’re happy with adds up to the spice of your life.

Tara, kain! 🙂

Leave a Reply

