Day 9: Letter to Someone I Wish I Could Meet

Dear Mr. Chemist-and-Detective Sherlock Holmes,

Please know Sir that I am your biggest fan ever since I was seven years old. Yes, at that young age I already encountered you and your exploits with Dr. James Watson in The Red-Headed League. As I got to know your passion with your work (which burns on similar intensity with your violin-playing) more, I moved on to reading the complete two-volume series of your epic  adventures (my favorite will always be The Hound of the Baskervilles, though of course Prof. James Moriarty, the Master of Imaginative Crime, deserves a standing ovation as well). Before I knew, I developed a strong interest in reading and watching detective stories. Even before those detectives can even attempt to make their deductions, I try to come up with mine,  given the clues enumerated so far. By the time I was about to enter college, I signed up for your course without any doubts.

Someday, I want to be as great as you are Sir. Especially with the violin part.

Please extend my regards to your colleagues, Mr. Hercule Poirot, Mr. Shinichi Kudo, and the rest.

Those being said, can I know when you are free? I would like you to sign my Sir Arthur Conan Doyle books.

(Then again, the purpose of this letter would have been meaningless if you and other fictional characters existed. So probably, your good works will just remain in our memories as positive motivation.)

[I] know [your] methods [and I] apply them,
Engr. Troy Alivio, RCh

PS: Can you please teach me how to synthesize luminol? 🙂

Leave a Reply

