The Moon Is Always Egg-Shaped Every Easter Sundays

(repost from my Multiply account, 8 April 2008)

Lent is the only season in the Roman Catholic Calendar which follows the Lunar Calendar. Since (as far as I know) the sacrificial lamb’s Passover of the earliest Jews was at a full moon, the Passover Suffering and Death then of the Lamb of God, Jesus, is decreed by Vatican to be on a full moon as well (Good Friday). It is fun however to note that two days after, the full moon enters the waxing gibbous phase, that is, it becomes egg-shaped. And that day is what is known to the world (to all religions that is) as Easter Sunday, the most glorious celebration of the whole Christian community.

I was around 7 years old when I first noticed this fact. Having been lulled with Bible stories by my Granny as my very bedtime stories, I already had the idea of early Christian traditions. I have however no knowledge that the moon is egg-shaped on Easter Sundays. With my inquisitive mind then, I have proven through the years that this phenomenon is indeed true.

The egg is a symbol of hope, as it is a sign of the Risen Messiah, the ever-so obedient Son of God who never failed to keep His promise to stay with man for all eternity. In dying, He vanquished Death, and in rising like a phoenix, He gave the chance to everyone to live again. After all the sufferings of man, there is always hope in the end.

(Observe. This finding is really true.)

As long as I live, there is hope. And as long as I hope, I live. I exist.

Leave a Reply

